† Raf Simons – Jil Sanders

Even if I live in London, I still have a Belgian heart, and when other Belgian creatives are doing well, my national pride is coming to the surface.

Raf Simons is one of the only famous Belgian fashion designers at the moment who didn’t study Fashion at the famous Royal Academy of Fine Art (where I studied myself) in Antwerp. Other then Ann Demeulemeester, Bruno Pieters, Haider Ackermann and Dries Van Nooten, Raf Simons has a background in industrial design and only ended up in fashion later. But that doesn’t make his collections any less strong, and me any less proud to be a Belgian.

Here are some of my favorite looks of his (sadly) last collection for Jill Sanders at Milan fashion Week. I love his nostalgic pastel color use and strong minimal silhouettes and am a huge fan of his coats. Very excited to see what his next adventure will be (Dior?):

(Images via fashion.telegraph.co.uk)

Not only the collection made a deep impression on me, the set decoration looked amazing as well. Antwerp based florist Marc Calle created these beautiful bouquets of flowers in plexiglass boxes spread round the catwalk. Very poetic I think. it supported Jill Sanders style, without taking too much attention away of the collection itself.

Marc Calles creation  also really reminds me of a piece I created myself, only recently for Liberty London (click here to see it).

(Images via stylebubble.typepad.com)

My Liberty SS ’12 invite design:More images of the design here: Liberty London SS ‘ 12

What do you reckon, is it just the Antwerp way of thinking?

L.

3 responses to “† Raf Simons – Jil Sanders

  1. Raf Simons is great and so is your blog, Laura!

  2. Wow awesome collection, love the sorbet colors, are romantic and fresh!

    Big kiss from Spain and thanks so much for your lovely comment sweetie!

  3. amazing collections!!! so lovely!!!

    kisses!
    http://self-dressed.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

