Song Saa Private Island

This is my last post about my trip to Cambodia a few weeks ago. I decided to dedicate a whole post to Song Saa, as this place has made an enormous impression on me.

I was a bit sceptical when I heard we where going to a private, luxurious resort at the end of our trip. Cambodia is an amazing country, but it is still in full development. A lot of people are still living on the streets or getting under paid. So when I heard about our last place of residence of our trip, I didn’t know this would be very ethical correct after traveling through the country and seeing some amazing, but also worrying things

But all my prejudices disappeared when I arrived at the beautiful Song Saa Island. Not only does everything look part of the nature and blends in perfect with the Island flora, the idea of the island, besides being a resort, is research and the owners are protecting the whole area.

They have a team of 4 people working with government and non-government organisations, conservation authorities and community leaders to ensure Song Saa Island never loses the things that make it so special. (including a marine reserve covering one million square metres, where it’s forbidden to fish and is used for research)

To ensure their guests realize the value of what they see when they visit, they currently have two researchers, linked to Australia’s James Cook University, working on a field guide to Song Saa’s marine life. (read more about its sustainability here)

Besides  all of this, another thing I noticed is how beautifully every little detail on the island is designed. When I talked to the staff about how much I loved all the materials used and that I clearly saw there was thinking behind the interior of our villa, they told me Malita, one of the owners is actually a Interior Designer. She clearly has an amazing eye for detail and material and I really admire how she created not only a luxurious resort, but a whole experience  with these pure, natural materials, without losing any of the islands features.

As you can tell ,I could talk about Song Saa for ages, (and I didn’t start about the amazing food yet!) but I recommend to go to their website to read more (and definitely check out the resort photos, as I feel I didn’t capture enough of its beauty on mine)

We had our own jungle villa, with private infinity pool, sea view, outside and inside showers, an amazing kitchen and much more:

Breakfast on the water:

View from the jungle:

Diner (all the food was cooked by star chef Neil Wager ,who has cooked for the likes of Prince Andrew, the King of Spain, Sarah Ferguson, David Beckham and Brad Pitt) 

Chilling with a drink at the bar:

Lunch on the beach:

Last diner, BBQ in/by the pool:

(To see more about Song Saa Private Island, click here)

L.

11 responses to “Song Saa Private Island

  1. Wauw, dit is echt prachtig! Ik zal t onthouden!

  2. Wauw, onwijs mooie foto’s! Ik ben jaloers! ;)
    X

    lisarosalie.blogspot.com

  3. Oh wauw, dat ziet er echt prachtig uit! Geweldige foto’s!

  4. Looks like a gorgeous resort! I’d love to travel to Cambodia one day :)

    katiesbliss.com

  5. My God, this is absolute paradise!!! You’re so lucky to have stayed there :)

  6. Wauwie, lovely pictures! Love it.
    xoxo
    http://www.lesismoreblog.com

  7. Oh wauw, prachtig! Ik zou heel graag een keer naar Cambodia willen. En deze foto’s zijn behoorlijk overtuigend. Mag ik je vragen wat voor camera/lens je gebruikt? Je hebt echt talent!

    Liefs en fijne pasen!
    xoxo
    http://www.thefashionmoodboard.com

  8. Jemig meid, wat ONTZETTEND MOOI! Zo gaaf dat je daar bent geweest!

  9. Pingback: Cambodian treasures | snakeskinjacket

  10. umm AMAZING!! i wanna be right there right now!! xx

  11. suuuuper mooi, maar onbetaalbaar :(

Leave a Reply

